"1928-2016 Eighty-Eight Years of Service to the Arts"

Stone's Throw Dinner Theatre



Click here to edit title.

Click here to edit title.

Click here to edit text

Joplin Little Theatre & Stone's Throw Dinner Theatre
Joint Media Release

Patrons of local live theatre will have two choices to attend a well-loved play, Love Letters at two local theatres.

In an unusual turn of events both Joplin Little Theatre and Stone’s Throw Dinner Theatre were issued the rights to present the show by Dramatists Play Service on Saturday evening, February 11. Wally Bloss, President of Joplin Little Theatre’s Board of Directors noted, “This will give the public two choices to see a poignant story about love and life.” Stone’s Throw President Bryan Stringer said, “Either option will make for a great date night for theatre patrons.”

Joplin Little Theatre offers the play at 7:30 pm Feb 11, with a short pre-show medley of love songs for $10 per ticket. Stone’s Throw offers the play with an elegant dinner beginning at 6:30 pm for $30.

Stone’s Throw production features veterans Linda Bailey and Tom Brown.  Joplin Little Theatre has cast Duane and Gwen Hunt, retired MSSU Theatre Professors.

Stringer noted that “while having choices allows patrons different options. We have now begun to work more closely with area theatre groups to avoid other direct conflicts,” Bloss said, “Our Director’s committee will take this as an opportunity to share dates and play schedules.”

 Love Letters is the story of Andrew and Melissa, childhood friends whose lifelong correspondence describes their joys, their conflicts, their longings, their aspirations, and their defeats.  Through the years, their letters reflect the changing culture which has significant impact on each of them, leading them further apart yet strengthening their ties.  Despite their very different lives in different worlds, we see how much they really meant to each other over the years—physically apart, perhaps, but spiritually as close as only true lovers can be.

This touching story takes the audience through the spectrum of emotions, from chuckling to laughing out loud to crying to gasping in shock to laughing again.



Stone’s Throw Dinner Theatre: Doors open at 6:30 pm.  Tickets are $30.  Reservations are required –417-358-9665. The theatre is located at 2466 Old 66 Boulevard (old Route 66 west of the golf course). 

Joplin Little Theatre: Doors open 7:00, curtain at 7:30, tickets are $10 and can be purchased on-line at JLTPlay.org or by calling 417-623-3638, or at the theatre the night of the show if tickets are still available. It is located at 3009 W First, Joplin MO (also adjacent to a golf course!)


Theatre patrons are able to separately purchase tokens at the box office for wine and beer service during dinner. Four varieties of wine are available.

Please be prepared to show your ID at the box office window to receive your tokens. Limited to TWO per person.

Token sales will end at 7:20pm, when the box office closes.

Let us know how you enjoy this new added service.





Help support the Theatre by purchasing an AD for your business or family to be placed in our playbill during every show of the season or just a single show.

Place an AD to congratulate the actors and crew on all their hard work!
Surprise your actor in the family with a "Break A Leg" announcement!
Announce your upcoming Event!   Promote your business!

Be Creative- This is a great price!

Approximately 2500 patrons visit the Theatre each season.



             $175 per show or $1000 per season                                                                for Full half sheet

             $95 per show or $575 per season                for Half of half sheet

      $65 per show or $400 per season   

 for 1/3 of half sheet

$25 per show or $150 per season

for Business Card Size

      You can also underwrite an entire show
and receive a full page inside cover ad

Upcoming Events

Friday, Jun 23 at 6:30 PM - 10:00 PM
Saturday, Jun 24 at 6:30 PM - 10:00 PM
Sunday, Jun 25 at 12:30 PM - 4:00 PM
Sunday, Jul 16 at 6:00 PM - 8:00 PM

2017-2018 Board of Directors


President: Bryan Stringer - 2017

Vice President: Mark Sponaugle - 2018

Treasurer: Neal Ruggeberg - 2017

Secretary: Doug Dickey - 2019

Members At Large: (year of term end)

Cheyla Burkett (2019)

Betty Bell (2018)

Travis Gubser (2018)

Doug Dickey (2018)

Kaitlin Morrill (2018)

Robert Myers (2017)

Betsy Fleischaker (2017)

Pam White (2019)

Drew Girouard (2019)

Linda Bailey

Newest Members

Facebook Like Button

Twitter Follow Button

Recent Photos